Page 21 of 24 < 1 2 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 >
Topic Options
#3415 - 03/27/07 02:13 AM General discussion - Part three [Re: Dianne E.]
sealistener Offline

Hi everyone,
I would like to comment on the possible origin of psychopathy.
I think that we are still born with different make-ups of our brains that had their purpose and meaning in the Stone age.
In a simplified way, all our traits are meant to act for the survival of an individual, or a group.
I think that certain percentage of people are designed without feeling in order that in a fight against enemy, or animals, they would go and be able to kill without hesitation or compassion, in order to defend his group.
Others in a group are born sensitive, compassionate, etc., designed for another task in an altruistic society, similar to ants society.
Psychopats just don't fit in our civilized age. Non-criminal Psychopath just only "kill" a business partner, to act on their way of thinking.
I have a lot of bad experience with psychopats through all my life as everybody, I am sure. At least in a workplace, there seems always be one of them.
I just tried to explain to myself in a simplified way why they are so horribly different from the mainstream in their behaviour.

Edited by sealistener (04/01/07 06:51 PM)

#3416 - 03/27/07 02:02 PM Re: General Discussion - Part Three [Re: sealistener]
denfox Offline

Hi sealistener,

Maybe it would be helpful if you were to share some of your experiences with psychopaths here.

Dianne once wrote a post with a story about a young man who felt the good and evil struggling within him and asked his grandfather which would win. The grandfather replied, whichever one you feed. Perhaps, Dianne would be willing to repost the full story.

I don't think I buy into your theory of a purpose. A hammar has no purpose until you pick it up and use it. Why should there be a purpose for those who lack a conscience? No explanation is required.

-denfox